Walsh College

ACG Detroit Cup

Updated 3/3/14

Walsh College took first place in the seventh annual Association for Corporate Growth (ACG) Detroit Cup on February 13, 2014. This is the second consecutive year and fourth time in the seven year history of the competition that Walsh College has won.


What is the ACG Detroit Cup?
The Association for Corporate Growth/Detroit Chapter is sponsoring the Sixth Annual ACG Detroit Cup Competition for graduate students. Teams of three students will receive a case study, develop solutions, and present their findings to a panel of ACG members.

Why compete?
Students gain invaluable feedback from judges, expand networks, and compete for scholarships. Corporate sponsors of the ACG Detroit Cup are Conway MacKenzie, Ernst & Young, Fifth Third Bank, Huntington Bank, Huron Capital Partners, Maynards, UHY Advisors, and Pinsent Masons. The ACG Detroit Chapter's 280 members work in corporate growth, corporate development, and mergers and acquisitions. Worldwide, the ACG is represented by 54 chapters and 12,000 members. Corporate recruiters, human resource professionals and others looking to hire the area's brightest business students are expected to attend.

Who can compete?
Students who enrolled in the winter 2013 semester.

Who advises competitors?
Many Walsh faculty devoted their time to working with our students through this process – in many cases giving up many of their Saturdays throughout January. Matt Wirgau, adjunct assistant professor of Finance and Economics; Jenny Tatsak, Ph.D., professor of Business Communications; and Louise August, Ph.D., associate professor of Finance and Economics; have mentored and assisted the Walsh ACG team.

How can I sign up to compete?
Complete the ACG Cup Background Information form and return to Sheri Rizzo. For additional questions, you may contact Professor John Moore, Professor Louise August, or Professor Matthew Wirgau

What other institutions compete? 
The ACG Detroit Cup intercollegiate competition is for Master of Business Administration (MBA) students. In past competitions, competing schools have included the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University, the Stephen M. Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan, the University of Detroit Mercy College of Business Administration, the University of Michigan-Flint School of Management, Walsh College, and the Wayne State University School of Business Administration.  

How has Walsh College placed in past events?

Walsh College has placed first or second in every year of the competition. Walsh College is the winner of the 2014, 2013, 2011, and 2008 ACG Detroit Cup and placed second in 2012, 2010, and 2009.  The University of Detroit Mercy won the 2009 ACG Detroit Cup and Michigan State University won in 2010.

What is the prize for winning the ACG Detroit Cup?
A total of $16,000 in scholarship money is awarded during the competition. The first place team’s school receives the ACG Cup and the team receives $10,000; the second place team receives $5,000; and each of the remaining teams is awarded $1,000.

All ACG Cup participants were also eligible to apply for a four- to eight-week expenses-paid internship with the global law firm of Pinsent Masons. The intern will work in London, Dubai, or China, on mergers and acquisitions, securities offerings and company re-organizations, research, and other projects. Two years ago, Walsh MBA student and attorney Jennifer Gasiecki won the internship.

Past competitor testimonies
Joshua Metcalf: "I thought participating in the ACG was extremely beneficial and was without a doubt the most valuable part of my time at Walsh. Professor Wirgau does an excellent job coaching the various teams and gives everyone the understanding and confidence to excel regardless of your background. It also allows students to go head-to-head and compete with top-ranked schools in the state. An added benefit is the competition puts you right in front of investment banking professionals and recruiters. I would highly recommend participating in the ACG cup."

2014 Team: First Place
Alex Drost
Jacob Katz
Jordan Werner 
2013 Team: First Place
Michael Manetta
Ryan Drews
Mark Lashbrook  
2012 Team: Second Place 
Professor Matt Wirgau
Matt Foley (BBA '04, MSM '09, MBA '12)
Bryan Hardaway (MSF '11, MBA '12)
Scott Grange (MBA '12)
President Stephanie Bergeron 
2011 Team: First Place
Jim Cook (MSF '11)
Dan Chenoweth (MBA '12)
Brian Lemon (MBA-MSF '12) 
2010 Team: Second Place 
Prof. Matt Wirgau
Mike Brown
Jennifer Gasiecki (MBA-MSF '12)
Ryan Myers (MBA-MSF '11)
2009 Team: Second Place
Jordan Ruder (MSF '09)
Prof. Matt Wirgau
Jennifer Gasiecki (MBA-MSF '12)
Kathleen Dobrovic (MSF '10) 
2008 Team: First Place
President Stephanie Bergeron
Dave Chilingirian (MSF '10)
Mike Rumel (MBA '08)
Tara Miceli (MSF '10)